ARCS Light Award Recipients

Each year the ARCS Light award is given to a member of each ARCS Foundation chapter who has displayed commitment and long-term service at the chapter level. The recipients are honored for serving in board/leadership positions, establishing Scholar funds and collaborating with university partners, chairing special events and recruiting new members, and providing expertise in chapter operations.


2019 - 2020 San Diego ARCS Light Recipient:



Helga Moore, the San Diego ARCS Light for 2019, has been a very active member for ten years and has taken on many roles on the Board of Directors. She has served on the Board for eight of the ten years she has been a member, including two years as President.  

After graduating with a Master’s Degree from the Norwegian State Library School, Helga accepted an offer to work for the San Diego Public Library as an exchange librarian for one year. During that time, she met her late husband James, an aeronautical engineer working for General Dynamics. They got married in Norway and settled in San Diego.

After raising two daughters, Helga decided to go back to work for the library,

Her first daunting task was to oversee the automation of the library system which was met with both skepticism and opposition from both the staff and the public.   

To better prepare for this assignment, Helga gained a Certificate in Business Data Processing from UCSD. She retired from the library as Deputy Director, which  included overseeing the planning of the new Central Library.

In addition to ARCS, Helga has been active in many civic and nonprofit organizations including:  Sons of Norway (President), House of Norway (President), PEO Chapter NN (President), San Diego Lions Club (Trustee), San Diego Council on Literacy (Secretary), First Presbyterian Church (Deacon), Town & Gown and San Diego Symphony Stars. She also served as the Chair of the Sons of Norway International Convention, held in San Diego in 2008.

She is an avid supporter of the Symphony and the La Jolla Playhouse and is an annual subscriber to the Old Globe and the San Diego Musical Theatre.

Helga is known for her energy and enthusiasm. She visits her native country every year and is known for her innovative problem solving capabilities and commitment to the organizations she supports.


Honorees - San Diego Chapter

2018-19 Peggy Hanley

2017-18 Doris Ellsworth

2016-17 Bobbie Vandervoort

2015-16 Mary Lou Quick

2014-15 Robin Luby

2013-14 Candace Kohl

2012-13 Mary Fitz

2011-12 Diane Chalmers

2010-11 Bea Hadinger

2009-10 Jeanette Foushee

2008-09 Patricia Stewart

2007-08 Jerrie Schmidt

2006-07 Joan Evangelou

2005-06 Marti Panarisi

2004-05 Nancy Bildsoe

2003-04 Connie Adelman

2002-03 Pattie Wellborn

2001-02 Peggy Elliott

2000-01 Karon Luce 

1999-00 Mary Jane Bennett 

1998-99 Lois Thompson 

1997-98  Pat Beck 

1996-97  Betty Simm 

1995-96  Toni Nickell 

1994-95  Karen Bowden 

1993-94  Barbara McColl 

1992-93  Becki Etess 

1991-92  Betty Brayshay 

1990-91  Kay Redmond 

1989-90  Dottie Georgens 

1988-89  Lois Roon 

1987-88  Yvonne Larsen 

1986-87  Betty Jo Williams 

1985-86  Gayle Wilson